Kansas State University


Department of Agricultural Economics

Arthur Capper Cooperative Center Update

For any cooperative, creating value for members is critical for success. As agriculture moves into a period of tighter margins, deploying capital and positioning the cooperative will be even morSymp13e imperative for driving value back to the membership. The 2015 K-State Symposium on Cooperative Issues focused on creating member value. The Arthur Capper Cooperative Center (ACCC) hosted the symposium on August 19, 2015, at the K-State Alumni Center in Manhattan, Kansas.

With the focus on creating member value, leading agricultural and rural experts presented their views and insights on new technologies available to cooperatives and producers. Developments in rail infrastructure were also shared with the group. The day concluded with an open discussion with cooperative members who recently graduated from the KARL program.

Representatives from 26 different cooperatives were in attendance at the 2015 K-State Symposium. This ACCC cooperative education program is held jointly with the Kansas Cooperative Council’s Leadership Roundtable and is open to all who are interested in cooperative issues.

ACCC Cooperative Scholarships Awarded

The Arthur Capper CCooperativeScholarshipStudents at Symposium2015ooperative Center (ACCC) cooperative scholarship committee at Kansas State University awarded 18 cooperative scholarships totaling $55,075 to College of Agriculture students for the 2015-2016 academic year. The ACCC has awarded $611,584 in scholarships on behalf of the cooperative community since 1985.

David and Susan Barton Cooperative Leadership Scholarship: Linda (Lindy) Bilberry of Garden City, Agribusiness. Co-op connections: Garden City Co-op, Inc., Victory Electric Cooperative Association, Wheatland Electric Cooperative, Inc.

Otis and Mary Lee Molz Cooperative Scholarship: Kyle Anderson of Abilene, Feed Science and Management. Co-op connections: North Central Kansas Cooperative Association, DS&O Electric Cooperative, Tri-County Telephone, Great Plains Credit Union.

Matthew Kent Stamper Memorial Scholarship:  Cami Roth of Sterling, Animal Sciences and Industry. Co-op connections: Ark Valley Electric Cooperative Association, Central Prairie Co-op, Farmers Cooperative Grain Company of Abbyville.

Joseph Lieber Memorial Cooperative Scholarship: Shannon Maxwell of Holton, Agricultural Economics. Co-op connection: Jackson Farmers, Inc., Frontier Farm Credit, Rainbow Telecommunications Association, Brown-Atchison Electric Cooperative.

CoBank Outstanding Student Scholarship Recipients:  Karly Frederick of Alden, Agribusiness. Co-op connections: MKC, Central Prairie Cooperative, Walters Cooperative Elevator Association, Ark Valley Electric Cooperative Association, CHS, Triangle Communications, Kanza Cooperative Association, Farmers Cooperative Grain Company of Abbyville.  Matt Seiwert of Conway Springs, Agribusiness. Co-op connection: Farmers Cooperative Grain Association of Conway Springs, CoMark Grain Marketing LLC, American AgCredit, Sumner-Cowley Electric Cooperative, Inc. Kristin Stiebe of Kinsley, Agribusiness. Co-op connections: Golden Valley, Inc., Pride Ag Resources, American AgCredit, Midwest Energy, Inc., Golden Belt Telephone Association.

William S. May Scholarship for Ag Finance Recipient: Garrett Kays of Weir, Agricultural Economics. Co-op connections: Land O’Lakes, Inc., Producers Cooperative Association, Affiliated Foods Midwest Cooperative.

CHS University Scholarship Recipients: John Bergkamp ofGarden Plain, Agronomy. Co-op connections: Farmers Cooperative Elevator Company of Cheney, MKC, American AgCredit, Andale Farmers Cooperative Company, Sedgwick County Electric Co-op Association. Cody Holliday of Soldier, Agricultural Education. Co-op connections: Frontier Farm Credit, MKC, Jackson Farmers, Inc., Nemaha County Co-op Association. Garet Koester of Concordia, Agricultural Economics. Co-op connections: Central Valley Ag Cooperative, Farmway Co-op, Inc., Rolling Hills Electric Co-op, Cloud County Cooperative Elevator Association. Chris Mushrush of Strong City, Feed Science and Management. Co-op connections: Frontier Farm Credit, Flint Hills Rural Electric Co-op. Nathan Peterson ofAssaria, Agricultural Technology Management. Co-op connections: MKC, American AgCredit. Wyatt Pracht of Westphalia, Agricultural Economics. Co-op connections: Frontier Farm Credit, LeRoy Cooperative Association, Inc., Lyon-Coffey Electric Cooperative. Nathan Smart of LaHarpe, Agricultural Economics. Co-op connections: Heartland Rural Electric Cooperative, Frontier Farm Credit, Southern Kansas Cotton Growers. Evan Woodbury of Quenemo, Agricultural Education. Co-op connections: Genex Cooperative, Inc., Ottawa Co-op Association.

Triangle Insurance Scholarship Recipient: Matthew McClaren of Fowler, Agribusiness. Co-op connections: High Plains Farm Credit, Fowler Equity Exchange, Minneola Co-op, Inc., Pride Ag Resources, Victory Electric Cooperative Association, CMS Electric Cooperative, Inc.

 Dave Woolfolk Scholarship Recipient: Bret Gum of Johnson, Agricultural Economics. Co-op connections: Skyland Grain, LLC, Pioneer Electric Cooperative, Inc., Pioneer Communications.

For the full press releases and photos as well as information on how to apply for cooperative scholarships, please visit the student resources section of the ACCC website: