Kansas State University


Couple and Family Therapy

Student achievements and awards

Current through summer of 2016

Student honors through AAMFT:

  • AAMFT Minority Fellowship Program NITT-MFP-Youth: Chelsea Spencer, James Bridges, Allen Mallory, Kim Van Preston Morgran, Michelle Busk and Nicole Gonzalez
  • AAMFT Minority Fellowship Program PhD fellows: Lauren Oseland, Jessica Cless, Zenova Williams and Chelsea Spencer
  • AAMFT Dissertation Award: Bryan Cafferky
  • AAMFT Cutting Edge Research selections: “Adult Attachment and Intimate Partner Violence: A Meta-Analysis”: Prerana Dharnidharka
  • AAMFT Cutting Edge Research posters: Zenova Williams, Laura Schachtner, Cameron Brown, Lauren Oseland, Austin Beck, Jessica Cless, Prerana Dharnidharka, Maria Dominguez and Chelsea Spencer

Scholarship and grant awardees are:

  • Martha L. Dunlap Memorial Scholarship: Sally Hodges & Chandra Lasley
  • Diane Sanders Memorial Scholarship: Fatima Nikparva
  • Jones Manus Memorial Scholarship: Kimberley Van
  • Donoghue Scholarship from Graduate School: Chelsea Spencer, Aimee Hubbard, Laura Schnatner, Cameron Brown, Zenova Williams, Kimberley Van, Morgan Bialas, & Denzel Jones, Lauren Oseland
  • Guerney marriage and family therapy scholarship: Thomas Childs
  • Poresky Assistantship in Family Studies and Human Service award: Emel Genc (Burmese Asylum Seekers/Refugees: Living in Limbo), Sharon Dietz (A theoretical framework of interracial couple relationship success: empirical findings from a sample of black-white couples in the united states), Aimee Hubbard (Couple’s Help-Seeking Process: The Impact of Intrapersonal and Interpersonal Factor in Help-Seeking Attitudes and Behavior) & Zenova Williams
  • College of Human Ecology Multicultural Scholarship for International Students: Prerana Dharnidharka
  • Bernard Guerney, Jr. and Dr. Louise Guerney Marriage and Family Therapy Scholarship for Graduate Student (Samantha Ricard)
  • The Human Ecology Scholarship for Study Abroad: Tom Su
  • Marian Todd Burke Scholarship: Allen Mallory
  • Marie R. Bonebrake Award: Zenova Williams
  • College of Human Ecology Travel Award: Zenova Williams
  • College of Human Ecology Scholarship: Zenova Williams
  • College of Human Ecology Multicultural Scholarship: Zenova Williams
  • Lois G. and Jerome L. Chandler Scholarship in Human Ecology: Lauren Oseland

Student honors and awards:

  • Kansas Association for Marriage and Family Therapy Jurich Student Leadership Award: Chelsea Spencer
  • American Association for the Advancement of Science Catalyzing Advocacy in Science and Engineering Workshop: Allen Mallory
  • Graduate Student Leadership Development Program: Zenova Williams
  • Nominated for golden key outstanding GRA of the year: Morgan Bialas
  • Nominated as the College of Human Ecology’s doctoral GSC Award for Teaching Excellence: Cameron Brown

Research awards went to:

  • Journal of Marital and Family Therapy Doctoral Apprentice Reviewer of the Year Award: Charity Clifford, Prerana Dharnidharka and Lauren Oseland
  • Certificate of achievement for outstanding presentation at the research and the state poster session: Bryant Miller

3rd place Social Sciences/Humanities/Education Poster at the Kansas State University Graduate Research, Arts, and Discovery Forum:  Lauren Oseland