Kansas State University


Department of Communication Studies

Lofty Aspirations: Endowing 20 New Scholarships

Kansas State Debate Team


For many students in Communication Studies, scholarships make their success at K-State possible. Last year we graduated a record number 33 undergraduate and 8 graduate students in Communication Studies.

We return to Nichols Hall for the 2014-2015 academic term to work with more than 150 majors and graduate students. Our ability to continue providing a first-class education to a diverse student body hinges on scholarship support.

A primary dimension of K-State’s 2025 mission is to develop a “highly skilled and educated citizenry.”

Kansas State Forensics Team

This can be realized when a diverse and significant portion of the population has access to a higher education. Currently, students (and their caregivers) are paying a greater percentage of the tuition bill than prior generations. In order to provide the greatest access to a high quality education, the Department of Communication Studies is launching a campaign to raise $500,000 to endow 20 scholarships.

Twenty scholarships will help support undergraduate students across campus who participate in our nationally competitive debate and forensics teams.

The K-State debate team has decades of success, including winning the CEDA national debate tournament on three separate occasions. Ten new scholarships for students participating in collegiate debate will help ensure that debate remains a significant experience for many K-State students.

The K-State forensics team, under Coach Craig Brown’s direction for the past 23 years, has produced numerous national finalists and champions. Moreover, the team has placed in the top 25 at the AFA national tournament since 1992. The team has not had an increase in scholarship money since 1992, so ten new scholarships for students participating in collegiate forensics is greatly needed and will enable the next generation of students to develop from this activity.


Support the Continuing Debate Excellence Fund # F58169

Support the Continuing Forensics Excellence Fund # F58198


Best wishes,

Tim Steffensmeier, Department Head

Craig Brown, Director of Forensics

Joe Koehle, Director of Debate

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *