Kansas State University


College of Education

Horizon Award showcases #EDCATS excellence

KSU’s COE led the way when 12 of the 32 first-year educators from Kansas (that’s nearly 38 percent!) recently recognized by the Kansas State Department of Education for their outstanding teaching skills through the 2018 Kansas Horizon Award program were products of Bluemont Hall.

The first-year educators were recently honored at a special ceremony during the Kansas Exemplary Educators Network (KEEN) State Education Conference in Topeka. To be eligible for the award, teachers must have successfully completed their first year of teaching and have performed in such a way as to distinguish themselves as outstanding. Recipients were notified of their selection by Kansas Commissioner of Education Randy Watson.

Here’s a list of our newest award-winning educators:

Region 1
Taylor Gros, Bluemont Elementary School, Manhattan-Ogden USD 383
Arika Haresnape, Clifton-Clyde High School, Clifton-Clyde USD 224
Mandy Malone, Hutchinson Middle School, Hutchinson USD 308
Kelly Oberheu, Emporia High School, Emporia USD 253
Jessica Steele, Cottonwood Elementary School, Salina USD 305

Region 2
April Gee, Valley Heights Junior Senior High School, Valley Heights USD 498

Region 3
Sarah Broddle, Monticello Trails Middle School, De Soto USD 232
Katie Omo, Prairie Ridge Elementary School, De Soto USD 232
Michael Richards, Oxford Middle School, Blue Valley USD 229
Michaela Shandy, Blue River Elementary School, Blue Valley USD 229

Region 4
Hilary Cosgrove, Freeman Elementary School, Haysville USD 261
Hannah Martin, Maize South Middle School, Maize USD 266