Kansas State University


Personal Financial Planning

Personal financial planning student awards

mielitz-westKatherine Mielitz, a PFP 2014 doctoral cohort student, and Kevin West, a PFP master’s student, have been selected to receive Maurine Allison O’Bannon scholarships awarded by K-State’s Global Campus. The O’Bannon scholarships are offered biannually  in memory of Maurine Allison O’Bannon, a 1915 graduate from McPherson, Kansas. This scholarship provides a $1,000 cash award to distance-based students enrolled in
undergraduate and graduate programs.

PhD student, Sarah Asebedo, CFP® and Martin Seay Sarah Asebedo and Martin SeayCFP®, assistant professor, won the Financial Planning Association’s (FPA) 2016 Montgomery-Warschauer award for their November 2015 Journal of Financial Planning article, “From functioning to flourishing: Applying positive psychology to financial planning.” Each year, the Montgomery-Warschauer award recognizes the paper deemed to have provided “the most outstanding contribution to the betterment of the [financial planning] profession.” Congrats to Sarah and Martin on this outstanding accomplishment!