Kansas State University


Gender, Women, and Sexuality Studies

Women’s Studies Celebrates its Students and Honors its Community

Women’s Studies held a graduation ceremony in April, 2014 for graduates and for students who have contributed to the Department. Here we’d like to extend congratulations to our spring 2014 majors: Kerre Allen, Marisol Gonzalez, Sonaya Hamza, Brittany Huffaker, Nichole Garrett, Marjorie McLaughlin, and Adena Weiser. And we congratulate our minors: Colby Bruner, Georgia Campbell, Courtney Carpenter, Kynsey Creel, Kaitlyn Dewell, Tonielle Fiscus, Jacob Handy, Stephanie Johnson, Abigail Kallenbach, Jessica Kampfe, Sara Krstolic, Courtney Langley, Trey McGrew-Bryant, Jessica Nguyen, Taylor Poindexter, Heather Smith, Jena Terlip, Taylor Williams. We’d also like to congratulate the students who completed their Graduate Certificates: Alicia Beeson, Kaylea Pallister, Andrea Parrish, Melisa Posey, Laura Thacker, and Brittany Wiles.

Women’s Studies also thanks all individuals who have enabled Women’s Studies to serve Kansas State and the community in 2013-2014. The Women’s Studies Ambassadors are students who represent the Department. We thank the Women’s Studies Ambassadors and all the students and faculty who worked on Ambassador events. This includes Sonaya Hamza, Mallorie McLaughlin, Olivia Parrish, Claire Tolentino, and Adena Weiser. For their support of Women’s Studies, we thank members of the Women’s Studies Advisory Board, including Dolly Anderson, Erin Bishop, Tremenda Dillon, Joyce Glasscock, Julie Hostetler, Angela Hubler, Nancy Knopp, Cathie Lavis, Kendra Lewison, Betty Mattingly, Madai Rivera, Stefani Schrader, and Noel Schulz. And we’d like to extend our thanks to KSU alumna Janice P. Dreiling, founder of the Women’s Studies Clarina Howard Nichols Scholarship.

Women’s Studies congratulates the students who received Women’s Studies awards in spring, 2014. Mallorie McLaughlin received the award for the best undergraduate paper. Her paper was called “A Bearer Centered Model of Care and the Construction of Woman through Childbirth”. Laura Thacker received the award for the best graduate paper, which was entitled “Women Get Evil after Something Like That: Black Women’s Relationships in Gayl Jones’ Corregiadora“. The Founders Scholarship Award went to Maria Arvanitakis. And the first Clarina Howard Nichols Scholarship Award went to Sabrina Flowers.

At the Women’s Studies graduation ceremony, faculty and students also recognized Dr. Shireen Roshanravan for her outstanding contribution to Women’s Studies over the last six years. Dr. Roshanravan received tenure and promotion to Associate Professor in spring 2014. Because of her strong commitment to studying race and ethnicity, Dr. Roshanravan decided to join the American Ethnic Studies Department, our sister program at K-State. We look forward to working with Dr. Shireen Roshanravan and to working more closely with the American Ethnic Studies Department. As a member of our affiliated faculty, Dr. Roshanravan will continue to serve as an integral member of the Women’s Studies faculty.

— by Torry Dickinson

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *