Kansas State University


Department of Kinesiology

2017-2018 Major Accomplishments/Achievements

Kansas State Univ Department of Kinesiology Faculty, students and Alumni at Experimental Biology Conference in San Diego, CA April 21-25, 2018

The faculty, staff and students in the Department of Kinesiology have seen many successes during this school year. We are excited to share these with you!


Dr. Brad Behnke:  received the College of Human Ecology Faculty Research Excellence Award.   This award recognizes superior accomplishment in research, scholarly and creative activities, and discovery; elected to University Faculty Senate; along with David Poole were awarded an NIH R15 award of $455,012 for their research “Novel strategies to prevent respiratory muscle vascular dysfunction with mechanical ventilation”.

Dr. Gina Besenyi:  co-investigator on an $224,000 NIH (STTR) grant that is titled “Advancing public park information and technology resources to diverse audiences for healthy communities”; USRG Award $2460 Physical Activity to reduce cardio metabolic risk in adults with serious mental illness:  A health services approach; elected as Chair for Parks and Recreation section at the national level of the Active Living Research Executive Program Committee

Dr. Katie Heinrich:  appointed as a Research Mentor for the American Academy of Health Behavior’s Professional Development Research Scholars program.

Dr. Daniel Hirai: Post-doctoral fellow, hired at Purdue University Department of Kinesiology as an Assistant Professor.

Dr. Emily Mailey: promoted to Associate Professor with Tenure

Dr. Tim Musch: Environmental and Exercise Physiology Honor Award from the American Physiologic Society.   This is one of the highest awards from EEP and is a reflection of his stature in the field and his contributions to the EEP section; elected to the American Physiological Society (APS) national council for a 3 year term

Mary Oborny: Office Administrator/Accountant, elected to University Support Staff Senate

Dr. Rob Pettay: received the highest rating for his presentation in Advising and the Self-Fulfilling Prophecy at the Kansas Academic Advising Network (KAAN) in Wichita.


Dr. David Poole named University Distinguished Professor, a lifetime title that is the highest honor the university bestows on its faculty members; Edward F. Adolph Distinguished Lectureship from the Environmental and Exercise Physiology section of the American Physiological Society; elected Exercise Councilor for the American Physiological Society Environmental and Exercise Section (EEP).



Savannah Ardery: Undergraduate student, $1000 OURCI Research Award

Dryden Baumfaulk:  Masters student, awarded $1200 from Johnson Cancer Research Center for summer research; Department Outstanding Masters Student Award

Alec Butenas: Undergraduate student, $1000 OURCI Research Award

Jacob Caldwell: Doctoral student, Department Outstanding Research Award, College of Human Ecology; $1000 College of Human Ecology Research Award; Department Outstanding Doctoral Student Award, American Kinesiology Association Doctoral Scholar

Jesse Craig:  Doctoral student, College of Human Ecology Outstanding Graduate Student

Lucas Dudgeon:  Masters student, awarded $750 Masters Thesis Research Award, College of Human Ecology

Rebecca Gasper: Masters student, Department Outstanding Engagement Award, College of Human Ecology

Katelyn Gilmore: Masters student, Department Outstanding Masters Student Award

Emi Hayashi: Undergraduate student, $1000 OURCI Research Award

Brittany Hollerbach: Doctoral student, Department Outstanding Leadership Award, College of Human Ecology

Karly Kriss: Undergraduate student, $1000 OURCI Research Award

Brady Kurtz: Undergraduate student, $5000 Mindlin Foundation Undergraduate Research Award; $1000 OURCI Research Award

Shaelyn Martin: Undergraduate student; Big 12 Women’s Basketball Scholar-Athlete of the Year

Chris Omni: Masters student, $1000 Masters Thesis Research Award, College of Human Ecology

Hunter Post:  Masters student, won first place in the K-State Graduate Research, Arts and Discovery Forum.

Melitza Ramirez: Undergraduate student, $765 Undergraduate Research Award, College of Human Ecology

Korynne Rollins: Masters student, American Kinesiology Association Masters Scholar.

Kelli Stallbaumer:  Undergraduate student, American Kinesiology Association Undergraduate Scholar

Jesse Stein:  Doctoral student, Department Outstanding Teaching Award, College of Human Ecology; Department Outstanding GTA Award

Daniel Winslow: Undergraduate student, $1000 OURCI Research Award