Kansas State University


Department of Kinesiology

Doctoral Spotlight: Brittany Hollerbach

Hometown: Overland Park, Kansas

Educational background (degrees earned):

AA, Fire Science, Johnson County Community College

BS, Kinesiology, Kansas State University

MS, Kinesiology, Kansas State University

Ph.D., Kinesiology, Kansas State University

Program information (major/minor/etc.): Major: Kinesiology

Research line/area (if applicable): Firefighter behavioral health research with a focus on women in the fire service

What brought you to Kinesiology : Kinesiology and the courses offered in the major were so applicable to me and what I wanted to do. My undergraduate and graduate degrees were made up of courses in exercise physiology as well as behavioral science/public health and have prepared me for a career in research.

Future plans (post-graduation): Researcher, private non-profit

Organizational Involvement:

Professional Memberships:

2019-Present Firefighter Behavioral Health Alliance (FBHA)

2017-Present American Association of University Women (AAUW)

2017-Present Sigma Xi, Scientific Research Society

2016-Present American Academy of Health Behavior (AAHB)

2016-Present iWomen (International Association of Women in Fire & Emergency Services)

2015-Present American College of Sports Medicine (ACSM)

2015-Present National Strength and Conditioning Association (NSCA)

2015-Present Kansas Public Health Association (KPHA)

2013-Present Kinesiology Student Association (KSA)

Organizational Involvement:

2016-2018      Graduate Teaching Assistant

2016-2018      Graduate Student Mentor

2016-2017      KSU Homecoming Committee

2015-2018      Graduate Research Assistant


2019 – American Kinesiology Association Doctoral Scholar Award

2019 – National Strength & Conditioning Association Foundation Women’s Scholarship

2017 – Experiment.com Crowdfunding (Hollerbach, PI)

2016 – Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences Small Grant Program (Hollerbach, PI)

Any interesting facts about you: 1) I am a former firefighter; 2) I’ve never been out of the country; 3) I have a job doing firefighter research

Your favorite exercise/way to be physically active: My favorite workout is boxing! But I also like to go for a good run.