Celebrating Student Achievements

LARCP Student receives one of three ASLA Fellows Scholarships

Kelsey StewardKelsey Steward, MLA 4th year, received one of three ASLA Fellows Scholarship. Steward is pursuing a master’s degree in landscape architecture and a minor in horticulture. She plans to apply this education in a career focusing on sustainable development, water use, and social issues.

A member of her student ASLA chapter, Steward regularly enjoys helping individuals and communities. As a landscape architect, she believes she will have the greatest opportunity to improve social cohesion, implement conservative water practices, and become an advocate for socially and environmentally healthy community development.

Steward will be one of the three students who will attend the ASLA Annual Meeting and EXPO to receive her scholarship certificate at McCormick Place in Chicago from November 6–9, 2015.

As part of the submission process Steward had to complete a general application form,  a resume, a detailed financial aid form, 2 letters of recommendation and an essay describing how she hopes to contribute to the profession of landscape architecture.

“This process was a little daunting to begin,” Steward said. “It made begin to ask myself some revealing self-reflective questions: Why am I really here in the department of landscape architecture?  What do I want to do with this piece of paper I’ll get when I graduate in just two more short years? Something about putting all my thoughts for my future and my career into words helped me question my purpose in the landscape architecture field as well as renewed my thankfulness to be part of such an awesome program here at K-State.”

The ASLA Council of Fellows established this scholarship fund in 2004 to aid outstanding students in financial need, increase the participation in landscape architecture of economically disadvantaged and underrepresented populations, and enrich the profession through increased diversity. In addition to the scholarships, she will also receive a one-year student ASLA membership, general registration fees for the ASLA Annual Meeting and EXPO, and a travel stipend to attend the meeting. The Landscape Architecture Foundation administers the scholarship on behalf of the ASLA Council of Fellows.

Katherine Leise named K-State Olmsted Scholar

Katie Leise with Associate Professor Howard Hahn

Katherine Leise, MLA 5th year, was named the 2015 Kansas State University Olmsted Scholar by the Landscape Architecture Foundation. Leise is featured here with her major professor Associate Professor Howard Hahn on graduation day. After graduation she joined Kimley-Horn and Associates, Inc. in Minneapolis, MN.

Named for Frederick Law Olmsted, the father of American landscape architecture, the Olmsted Scholars Program is the premier national award program for landscape architecture students. Now in its eighth year, the program recognizes one outstanding student from each accredited landscape architecture program in the U.S. and Canada. Students are both honored for past achievements and recognized for their future potential to influence the landscape architecture profession.

Leise will attend the LAF Annual Benefit on Nov. 6 to accept the award. She joins a growing community of nearly 400 past and present Olmsted Scholars. The prestige and publicity associated with the award serve to promote the significance of the landscape architecture profession and help attract inspired and motivated leaders.

2015 Commencement Award Recipients

Masters in Landscape Architecture Awards:

APDesign ARCC King Medal: Katherine Leise, awarded by the college

ASLA Honor Awards: Ashley Brewster and Katherine Leise, awarded by a jury of the American Society of Landscape Architects

ASLA Merit Awards: Elizabeth Haddox and Gabriela Weber, awarded by a jury of the American Society of Landscape Architects

Dr. Robert P. Ealy Award for academic excellence: Ross DeVault, awarded by the LA faculty

Outstanding Graduate Student Award: Abigail Glastetter, awarded by the LA faculty

Outstanding Graduate Research Award: Cydnie Jones, awarded by the LA faculty

L.R. Quinlan Award for the most advancement during course of study: Glen Jarrett, awarded by the LA faculty

Masters in Regional & Community Planning Awards:

AICP Outstanding Student Award: Eric Conner, awarded by the RCP faculty

Outstanding Master’s Report: Ryan Kacirek, awarded by the RCP faculty

Photos from commencement:


MS CD and MRCP students meet for the first time at commencement


Professor Chip Winslow and students from the MLA class of ’15 line up before the procession

MSCD Grads

Three graduates of the Master of Science in Community Development online degree traveled to Manhattan for commencement. From left to right, Nathan Bramsen from Niger, Africa, Lester Limon from Newton, Kansas and Lakeshia Glover from Boiling Springs, South Carolina

Commencement Cydnie Jones

Cydnie Jones, MLA ’15, winner of the Outstanding Landscape Architecture research award with her project poster,Designing a neighborhood to prevent crime and increase physical activity: a study among African-American women in Kansas City, Missouri


Ryan Kacirek represented the regional & community planning graduating class as the class speaker


Betsy Haddox represented the landscape architecture graduating class as the class speaker


Two generations of K-State landscape architects: Koby Bradley, BLA ‘90, and Kyle Bradley, MLA ’15


Dr. Tim Keane hoods Dr. Katie Burke, the second Ph.D. student to complete an Environmental Planning & Design doctorate under Tim’s direction