Kansas State University


Department of Communications and Agricultural Education

Alumni Rocking the Real World

We know our alumni are doing great things because their names keep coming up at awards ceremonies. In case you have not heard the news, here is a list of recently honored alumni:


On the Education Side: In addition to recognizing teachers for their years of service, The Kansas Association of Agricultural Editors (KAAE) recognizes outstanding agriculture teachers. Congratulations to our agricultural education alumni honored this summer!

  • Laura Priest ’06, Lawrence Free State HS—KAAE Young Teacher of the Year

Some of our alumni earned further recognition by being honored by the Kansas Association for Career and Technical Education (K-ACTE).

  • Jacqueline Gabbert ’09, Marysville HS—K-ACTE New Teacher of the Year
  • Kelly Hoelting ‘01, Mission Valley HS—K-ACTE Teacher of the Year

Alumni were also nominated for national recognition from the National Association of Agricultural Educators (NAAE):

  • John Bergin ‘09, Southeast of Saline HS—KAAE Outstanding Young Member
  • Kelly Hoelting ‘01, Mission Valley HS—KAAE Outstanding Teacher
  • Linda Chase ’97, Wellington HS—Agriscience Teacher of the Year
  • Jacqueline Gabbert ‘09, Marysville HS—Teachers Turn the Key Scholarship

Linda Chase won the National Agriscience Teacher of the Year for the region. Jacqueline Gabbert ‘09 was awarded the National Teachers Turn the Key Scholarship.


On the Communication Side: The Livestock Publication Council and American Agricultural Editors Association recognized outstanding industry professionals at the 2014 Ag Media Summit July 26—30 in Indianapolis, Indiana.


Livestock Publication Council Awards:

Angie Denton ‘95, Hereford World

  • 2nd place- Producer/Farm/Ranch Profile, “Serving the Breed”
  • 2nd place- In-depth reporting/multiple article, “Spotlight on Service,” in collaboration with Sara Gugelmeyer and Christy Couch Lee

Jennifer M. Latzke ‘00, High Plains/Midwest Ag Journal

  • 1st place- News Story, “Drought Effects Felt from Cow to Feedlot”
  • 1st place- Miscellaneous Writing, “The Things We Ask Guys To Do”

Todd Domer ‘83, Kansas Stockman

  • 2nd place- Commentary or Essay, “No Common Ground”

Carrie Heitman ‘11, American Angus Association

  • 1st place- Annual Reports (Designer), “Fiscal Year 2013 Annual Report”


American Agricultural Editors Association Awards:

Jennifer M. Latzke ‘00, High Plains/Midwest Ag Journal

  • 2nd place- Breaking News, “Investigation Ongoing into GM Wheat Discovery in Oregon”

Holly Martin ‘93, High Plains Journal

  • 3rd place- Editorial Opinion, “Be a Squeaky Wheel”


Huck Boyd National Institute for Rural Development named Holly Martin ’93 the Community Media Leader of the Year on October 18, 2014.


Faculty/Alumni Recognition: Some of our faculty also happen to be alumni, who have recently been recognized for their achievements.

Vance Publishing 40 Under 40:

University Advising announces inaugural grant recipients:


Did we miss anyone? Have you won an award lately? Write us a comment or send an email to Jennifer Ray, graduate teaching assistant (jlray@ksu.edu), so we can congratulate you!



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *