Kansas State University


College of Education

Try These Online Resources

Are you looking for some valuable online resources for your students? Several Curriculum and Instruction faculty suggest the following:

Dr. Brad Burenheide (Secondary Social Studies) —

  1. U.S. National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) (http://www.archives.gov)
  2. Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History (https://www.gilderlehrman.org)
  3. National Council for the Social Studies (NCSS) (http://www.socialstudies.org)

Dr. Tom Vontz (Elementary Social Studies) —

  1. Ed Teacher Tech (http://edtechteacher.org)
  2. Getty Images (http://www.gettyimages.com)
  3. Fact Monster (http://www.factmonster.com/encyclopedia.html)

Dr. Sherri Martinie (Secondary Math) —

  1. Illustrative Mathematics (https://www.illustrativemathematics.org)
  2. Mathematics Assessment Project – (http://map.mathshell.org/materials/index.php)
  3. NCTM Illuminations: Resources for Teaching Math (http://illuminations.nctm.org)
  4. Math Practice Standards resources (http://www.debbiewaggoner.com/math-practice-standards.html)

Dr. Vicki Sherbert (Secondary English/Language Arts, Speech/Theatre, Journalism)

  1. www.readwritethink.org
  2. www.nerdybookclub.wordpress.com
  3. www.ncte.org
  4. www.alan-ya.org
  5. http://jea.org

Dr. Phillip Payne (Music Education) 

  1. http://teachonline.asu.edu/objectives-builder/
  2. http://www.icompositions.com/
  3. iTunes and the App Store (these are changing every day and some are absolutely amazing!)
  4. Loopy and MadPad are two that are fantastic!

Dr. Tonnie Martinez (Curriculum and Instruction)
Check out a Facebook page, “First Year Teacher Support,” she’s created at https://www.facebook.com/groups/607148596068041/
Get advice; give advice—this page is for YOU! Early career teachers can connect to ask questions, share ideas, and support each other in navigating the first years of teaching.