Students honored at the Kansas American Planning Association Conference

Students in the LARCP Department recently received awards at the Kansas American Planning Association Conference in Wichita, Kan. October 2-3.

Book.indbEnvisioning Better Blocks for St. Joseph project, a studio project led by Associate Professor Blake Belanger and Assistant Professor Alpa Nawre, won the 2014 New Horizon (group) Award.  Proposals were created by students, in collaboration with the City of St. Joseph, Missouri and Mo-Kan Regional Council. Students who worked on the project include: Ryan Albracht, MLA ‘16; Allison Balderston, MLA ‘16; Amanda Kline, MLA ‘16; Beth Krehbiel, MLA ‘16; Wesley Moore, MLA ‘16; Richard Prudenti, MLA ‘16; Andrew Holzum, MLA ‘16; Lauren Heermann, MLA ‘16; Libby Tudor, MLA ‘16; Taylor Lininger, MLA ‘16; Jared Sickmann, MLA ‘16; Parker Ruskamp, MLA ’16; Erin Wilson, MLA ’16; and Andrew Rostek, MLA ‘16.

Book.indbDeanne Petersen, MRCP ’14, won the 2014 New Horizon (individual) Award for her master’s report “Food Truck Fever: A Spatio-Political Analysis of Food Truck Activity in Kansas City, Missouri,” which looked at the benefits of food trucks and how cities can modify their policies to encourage food truck activity. Petersen’s major professor was Assistant Professor Hyung Jin Kim. Supervisory committee members included Assistant Professor Hyung Jin Kim (LARCP), Professor John Keller (LARCP) and Associate Professor Kelly Getty (Animal Science and Industry/Food Science Institute).


Mitchel LoringMitchel Loring, MRCP ’14, won the 2014 New Horizon Honorable Mention for his master’s report “Capturing the Buzz: Social Media as a Design Informant for Urban Civic Spaces,” which looked at the application of a social media-based methodology to Washington Square results in the development of solutions for addressing this space’s dilemmas and Kansas City’s goals for the area. Loring’s major professor was Associate Professor Jason Brody. Supervisory committee members included Associate Professor Jason Brody (LARCP), Associate Professor Blake Belanger (LARCP) and Associate Professor Michael Wesch (Department of Sociology, Anthropology and Social Work).

Recent graduate wins Marsha Ritzdorf Award

Lauren 1A recent graduate from our department received the 2014 Marsha Ritzdorf Award for the Best Student Work on Diversity, Social Justice and the Role of Women in Planning from the Association of Collegiate Schools of Planning and the Faculty Women’s Interest Group.

Lauren Garrott, an August 2014 master’s graduate in regional and community planning, was selected for the honor for her paper “A Walk in the Park: A Study of African-American Women and an Opportunity for Physical Activity.” Garrott presented her paper at the 2014 conference of the Association of Collegiate Schools of Planning, October 30-November 2, in Philadelphia. Her supervisory committee was Major Professor Kingery-Page, Professor Wigfall and Dr. Heinrich (Kinesiology). You may download her full report here.