Kansas State University


Johnson Cancer Research Center Newsletter

Kudos to Our Researchers!

Stefan Bossmann, chemistry, and Deryl Troyer, anatomy & physiology, are at it again! Their promising new brain cancer treatment is getting major funding and attention from National Science Foundation! Here’s a video from NSF about the scientists’ “microscopic drug-carrying containers, nestled inside white blood cells and loaded with tumor-zapping medicine.”


Stefan Bossmann & Deryl Troyer

Bossmann, Troyer, Punit Prakash, in electrical & computer engineering, and others received a $1.3 million grant from the Punit PrakashNational Science Foundation’s Major Research Institute to develop a magnetic resonance imaging spectrometer that will be used to, among other things, heat and kill cancer cells while providing live, high-definition images of the heat’s effects. Read the full story.

Dr. Masaki Tamura

Masaaki Tamura, anatomy & physiology, wrote a book chapter titled “Umbilical Cord Matrix Stem Cells for Cytotherapy of Breast Cancer” for the book Stem Cell Therapeutics for Cancer, which was published in December 2013. Dr. Troyer and his team helped write the chapter.


Dr. Peying FongPeying Fong‘s (anatomy & physiology) thyroid research, supported by a National Institutes of Health Academic Research Enhancement Award, improves understanding of the molecular interactions in the thyroid gland related to cystic fibrosis, a genetic disorder. Read the full story.


Daniel Higgins, chemistry, received a Commerce Bank Distinguished Graduate Faculty Award for his outstanding scholarly achievement and contributions to graduate education at K-State. Read the full story.

Student excellence
Microbiology senior Brianne Pierce won second place in an undergraduate research competition at the 2013 American Society for Cell Biology meeting, where she gave a poster presentation about her work in Dr. Jeroen Roelofs‘s lab.

New cancer research faculty
We welcome new faculty research affiliates Bhupinder Bawa, diagnostic medicine and pathobiology; Brian Geisbrecht and Erika Geisbrecht, biochemistry and molecular biophysics; Jamie Henningson, diagnostic medicine/pathobiology;  Meena Kumari, anatomy and physiology; Richard Rosenkranz, human nutrition and Zhilong Yang, biology.

One thought on “Kudos to Our Researchers!

Comments are closed.